• October 31, 2014

Talbot County Drug courts honored - The Star Democrat - Easton, Maryland: News

Talbot County Drug courts honored

Posted: Sunday, May 10, 2009 12:00 am

Talbot County Drug Courts received a proclamation on May 5 from the Talbot County Council honoring their work and proclaiming the month of May as Drug Court Month in Talbot County. Drug Courts are specially supervised court dockets that handle cases of nonviolent substance abuse, using a combination of input from the judiciary, prosecution, defense bar, probation, law enforcement, mental health, social service, and treatment communities. They are statistically proven to significantly reduce drug use and do it cheaper than any other justice strategy. Front row, from left: Talbot County Supervisor for the Dept. of Juvenile Services Tim Haynes, Court Master Jamie Adkins, Talbot County Drug Court Coordinator Glen Plutschak, retired Talbot County Circuit Court Judge Sidney S. Campen, Drug Court volunteers Terry Harwood and James Mowbray, Easton Barrack Commander for the Maryland State Police Lt. Jerry Jones, Easton Police Chief Melbourne J. "Ben" Blue, and Talbot County Sheriff Dallas Pope. Back row, from left: Trappe Police Chief George Ball, Juvenile Service Counselor Melinda Lapres, Juvenile Court Art Therapist Catherine Cripps, Drug Court volunteers Aric and Sandie Rosenbach, Executive Director of CASA of Talbot County Robin Davenport, Talbot County State�s Attorney Scott Patterson, Director of the Talbot County Addictions Program Dr. Mark Carpenter, Clerk of the Circuit Court for Talbot County Mary Ann Shortall, Talbot County Assistant State's Attorney Ken Grote, Talbot County Public Schools Supervisor of Student Services Lynne Duncan, Executive Director of Talbot Partnership Gary Pearce, and CEO of the YMCA of Talbot County Robbie Gill. Not pictured: Talbot County Circuit Court Judge Broughton M. Earnest, Talbot County District Court Judge William H. Adkins, III, Talbot County Health Officer Kathy Foster, Acting Director of Talbot County Dept. of Social Services April Sharp, St. Michaels Police Chief Miguel Dennis, Lt. Patrick Maxw

Welcome to the discussion.


What do you think?

Do you plan to vote in the Nov. 4 election?

The election for Md. governor, state lawmakers, county officials and First District congressman is Tuesday, Nov. 4, with early voting Thursday, Oct. 23, through Thursday, Oct. 30.

Total Votes: 347


Featured Ads