WYE MILLS — Nash McMahan of Caroline County is the new chairman of the Chesapeake College Board of Trustees.

McMahan, a trustee since 2010, now leads the 10-member body charged with oversight at Chesapeake. Christopher Garvey of Queen Anne’s County will serve as the vice chairman.

“It’s exciting to be a part of the evolution of Chesapeake College as we move from defining the goals within our new strategic plan to attaining them,” McMahan said. “As board members, we appreciate the opportunity to help guide the college and see the success of our students. I’ve enjoyed my time with the board and look forward to leading this group of dedicated trustees.”

McMahan is a third-generation McMahan owner in the family business Tri Gas & Oil Co. Inc., a 50-year-old petroleum/propane marketer headquartered in Federalsburg.

A Severna Park native, Garvey is the president and CEO of Associated Builders and Contractors Chesapeake Shores Chapter in Annapolis.

McMahan succeeds Dr. Blenda Armistead, whose term as chairman ended in July. She worked closely with Dr. Stuart Bounds, interim president, from 2017-2018, to conduct a nationwide presidential search and led the board during President Cliff Coppersmith’s inaugural year.

“Even during times of transition, Chesapeake stays true to the mission of helping residents of our area grow and succeed,” Armistead said. “As trustees, we understand that our decisions impact everyone associated with the college, as well as the greater community. It’s been my honor to serve as chair, and I know we’ll see Chesapeake’s continued progress under the leadership of Nash and our new president.”

Of Armistead’s tenure as board chairman, Coppersmith said: “She provided excellent board leadership during a challenging phase of change and transition for the college. Her experience in both education and public administration have been — and continue to be — hallmarks of her work with the board, both as a member and as chair. The board and the entire Chesapeake community benefitted enormously from her leadership.”

Chesapeake’s Board of Trustees comprises two members from each of the five support counties. Members are appointed to five-year terms by the governor.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.