EASTON — The Easton Economic Development Corporation has announced the appointment of new member Marilyn M. Neal and existing board member Lloyd “Scott” Beatty Jr. as board chairman.

“We are extremely fortunate to have Scott Beatty take a leadership role with our organization,” said Tracy Ward, EEDC executive director. “His deep financial background, experience and knowledge of the greater Easton area will strengthen our ability to drive economic vitality and foster a healthy quality of life for our citizens.”

Beatty has served as Shore Bancshares Inc.’s president and chief executive officer since June 2013 and as a director of the company since 2000. Between 2011 and 2013, Beatty served as president and chief operating officer of Shore Bancshares, and between 2007 and 2013, he was its executive vice president and COO.

Prior to the merger of subsidiaries, CNB and the Talbot Bank of Easton, which formed Shore United Bank in July 2016, Beatty served as a director of Talbot Bank and a director of CNB. He also was employed in various executive-level operating officer capacities.

Prior to joining Shore Bancshares, Beatty was the chief operating officer of Darby Overseas Investments LP, a global private equity firm, and president of Darby Advisors Inc., a privately held family investment business. He also served as a practicing certified public accountant for 25 years and a principal in the accounting firm Beatty, Satchell & Company.

Neal is the executive director of Neighborhood Service Center Inc.. In her position, Neal reviews the Self-Sufficiency Standard for hundreds of low-income Talbot County residents each year to ensure the best resources are available to enable families and individuals to make progress toward economic security. Since 2009, she has overseen millions in federal, state, local and private funding to assist families to meet basic needs, with the amount varying by family composition.

Under Neal’s leadership, the center has continued to offer services that remove barriers to self-sufficiency by providing homelessness solutions, affordable housing, energy/utility assistance, after school care, food and other emergency services. Prior to becoming the executive director, Neal served as the organization’s deputy director. She partners with various human service agencies, including her current roles as vice chairman of the Maryland Community Action Partnership and as a member of the Talbot County Rotary Club.

“Marilyn’s tireless commitment to her vital work in our community will assist us in our Port Street and Easton Point redevelopment activities, ensuring that we build the necessary networks and opportunities for those in need,” Ward said. “She will bring a unique perspective to our board as we continue to look for ways to partner with citizens and community organizations.”

Additional members of the EEDC Board of Directors are Herbert S. Miller, chairman emeritus; Amy Haines, vice chairman; Anthony P. Kern, treasurer; Charles H. Thornton, secretary; Ron Engle; Rabbi Peter E. Hyman; Rosalee S. Potter; John Trax; Easton Mayor Robert C. Willey; Ann Harvey Yonkers; Matthew Peters; and Ted Bautz.

Formed in 2013, EEDC was created to promote economic vitality, smart redevelopment and business formation in Easton to foster a healthy quality of life for all generations.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.