SMAL announces winners of Martha Hudson Award

SMAL announces winners of Martha Hudson Award

“Sycamore by Pickering Creek” by Deborah McFarlin

ST. MICHAELS — The St. Michaels Art League has announced the winners of the 2019 Martha Hudson Award for excellence in watercolor, with first place going to Deborah McFarlin for her painting “Sycamore by Pickering Creek.”

Second place went to Joan Cranor for “Small Crafts” and third place to Judy Weaver for “Oxford Road Greeters.”

Honorable mentions went to Marianne Kost for “Portrait of Wayne,” Judie Lizewski for “Gotcha” and Stacy Sass for “Fall Day at the Farm.”

Since 2008, the art league has given these awards annually, thanks to an endowment left by Martha Hudson, a member of the renowned artist group the Traveling Brushes.

The show was judged by Dr. Jann Haynes Gilmore, an author, art historian and curator of exhibits featuring forgotten women artists.

The exhibit can be seen at the St. Michaels branch of the Talbot County Library at 106 Fremont St. until Dec. 31. Library hours are 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday and Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday and Wednesday, and 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday.

This program is funded in part by a grant from the Talbot County Arts Council with revenues provided by the Maryland State Arts Council.



(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.