Candidacy deadline fast approaching

Cara Brown, of Queen Anne’s County High School, won the state high school level 2020 “I Voted” contest. Her design, pictured, will be one of three featured on stickers handed out at Maryland voting locations this November.

EASTON — The Talbot County Board of Elections is gearing up for November 2020. The deadline to file for candidacy is Friday, Jan. 24.

Voters in Talbot County will be casting their votes for the offices of the Presidency, the First Congressional District of Maryland, three state judge offices, and three seats on the Talbot County Board of Education.

Five candidates have officially filed with the state’s Board of Elections for the First Congressional District seat. Incumbent, U.S. Rep. Andy Harris, a Republican, faces one Republican contender in the primary, Jorge Delgado. Erik Lane, Mia Mason, and Jennifer Pingley are the candidates for the Democratic primary.

The primary will be from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, April 28. Early voting will be held for one week from from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday, April 16, to April 23. The early voting center for Talbot County is located at the Easton Volunteer Fire Department Hall, 315 Leonard Rieck Drive in Easton.

Voters who want to vote in the primary but need to register or would like to change their party affiliation will need to do so before Tuesday, April 7. Voters who will be casting absentee ballots for the primary can request one to be delivered by mail until Tuesday, April 21, or delivered via internet until Friday, April 24.

Following the primaries, voter registration will re-open on May 11.

The General Election will be held from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 3. Early voting will be held for one week from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 22 to Oct. 29. Voters who will be casting an absentee ballot for the general election can request one to be delivered by mail until Tuesday, Oct. 27, or delivered via Internet until Friday, Oct. 30.

According to Maryland’s Board of Elections website, no candidates have filed for Board of Education District 2, which is currently held by Juanita Hopkins. Susan Delean-Botkin and Mary Wheeler are both running unopposed for Districts 5 and 6, respectively.

Many of Maryland’s voter services are now available online. Residents can register to vote, update voter registration information and check their polling place location at Voters can also submit their voter registration to the Talbot County Board of Elections in-person or via mail. The office is located at 215 Bay Street in Easton.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.